All In A Day’s Work

IMG_5876

The all too familiar sound of cries and wails penetrated her ears from the upstairs level of the house. Sent up to play freely with their toys away from puppy’s biting greets and envious toy snatches, she also craved a moment of sanity.  This was not to be had.  The eldest head to be yowling, “Hold it, hold it for me!” and the youngest’s shrieking retort of, “I don’t want to,” merited a mom interception. I arrive on the scene to see the youngest adorning herself in a pink fancy dress and the eldest en route to find me. She stops short as I ask what it is that she wants to be held.

The eldest was heard to be yowling, “Hold it, hold it for me!” and the youngest’s shrieking retort of, “I don’t want to,” merited a mom interception. I arrive on the scene to see the youngest adorning herself in a pink fancy dress and the eldest en route to find me. She stops short as I ask what it is that she wants to be held.

The lid to the dress up clothes box too much a challenge for the cranky toddler at this particular moment leads me to unveil some of my mom wizardry.

“Watch this,” I say as I pull the box away from the wall and flip open the lid to let it expertly rest against the window sill.

“How about that?”

The toddler juts out her jaw, indignant and unwanting to show just how impressed she is.

I exit the scene. My work here is done.

new-wdw-button

Leave a Reply

