3 Reasons Why Running the Sweeper Doesn’t Suck When You’re A Mom

I would not exactly be what you call a neat freak. A bit of a germophobe, yes, but not a neat freak. This is why it is surprising to me that I have come to realize my love for running the sweeper, and as I reflect more deeply on my life as  a mom, here are my three reasons why I enjoy it so much.
 
247h

Muscelmen… have you ever stepped on one of these bad boys?

  1. The visible effects.
There’s crap all over the floor.
Crumbs, toys, cat hair, and who knows what else. It is a mess, and I have the POWER to eliminate it.
There is so very little that I feel I have power over these days as a mom of two toddlers. The little dictators run my life on a daily basis. Every minute is determined by their momentary whims. “I need a drink.” As I perform my duty, a cry erupts from a small throat, “Not the pink cup!” and then two seconds later, “Where’s my pink cup!?” It’s madness.
But, I can sweep up the floor, see that all the garbage has been removed from the rugs and hardwoods, and even if it is only short lived until the next meal or toddler walks through the room, there has been a visual improvement to my environment. 
 
275h

Winner? Why yes, yes I am!

  1. It gives me a sense of accomplishment.  
The day of a SAHM mom is a whirlwind. Even the best intentions of a plan do not necessarily mean that anything will truly go the way it is intended. Between potty breaks, long unrelaxing meals, playing games you don’t really feel like playing, and being a referee between some seriously volatile toddler brawls, the day may almost completely escape me without having “gotten anything done.” So, I pull out the sweeper. There is always something to suck up, and after doing so, I can place my hands on my mom hips, look around for a second, and feel like I have accomplished something.
 
IMG_4364
  1. Noise: sweet, sweet noise.
Sweepers are loud.
So are my toddlers.
This beautiful symphony of vacuous noise drowns out the whining, complaining, shrieking and squealing for a just a little bit.
“What’s that honey? The sweeper is on. Mommy can’t hear you. Just a second, ok?” I reply to the moving lips that accompany the little body trying to get my attention. If anything truly catastrophic occurs, nothing can hold back the orchestra that accompanies it, so my girls are not in any danger as Mommy sucks up dirt and debris along to her new favorite soundtrack.
So while this may be just a mundane chore that I once never thought twice about, I now realize that running the sweeper, for this SAHM, does not suck!
14 thoughts on “3 Reasons Why Running the Sweeper Doesn’t Suck When You’re A Mom

  1. Me too! I go through a vacuum a year I vacuum so much. If the floor is clean, all is good (and I’m not listening to any fighting). The kids will always remember me for my constant vacuuming if nothing else 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YES! My family constantly makes fun of me because I actually find vacuuming therapeutic. (I sweep twice a day, because OCD.) It drowns out all the noise and shit, the floor is clean. It counts as cardio too, right? 😉 You’re my spirit animal.

    Promise to always #ShowMeYours?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love it! One of my favorite things is darkness. I can’t see any of the smudges, sticky juice spots, Cheetos fingerprints on the sofas, or handprints all over the mirrors.

    Sincerely, Nicolle L. advicewithatwist.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If only the carpet sweepers in the White House would use the sweepers during a Trump debate and announcement think how much whining the audinece would gratefully miss out on. Now that would give us all a sense of national accomplishment and pride for sure. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You have a way of getting straight at the truth! I love the bit about the pink cup – it made me laugh because it is SO accurate! And toddlers – my goodness how do we survive them? My youngest son just came to stay for three days over Easter with his two year old son while his wife was away. I was so happy to see them but still tried to do the things I had planned, like keeping up with an art challenge I am doing and posting pictures every day. But it was like trying to jump on an express train as it zipped past the station! No way was I getting ANYTHING done with that whirlwind in the house! You SAHMs do a brilliant job – you really do – I think I I have said to you before, you are doing the best thing you could ever do. Thanks goodness for sweepers eh? They do help with sanity! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

