Ya Win Some, Ya Lose Some

Every parent knows the joys of a parenting win and also the abysmal distress of a parenting fail. I had one of each back to back this weekend that just beg for sharing.

On Saturday, a good friend of mine was over for a play date, of the Mommy persuasion rather than kid. She came over for dinner and crafts and games before baby bedtime, and then some Mommy beverages and a movie after baby bedtime. Win, win situation for all involved. The kiddos love her, it breaks up the monotony of being pent up in the house for them, and it’s awesome to converse with another female adult, in person.

The night was going great, we made some cute t-shirts, did an easy and cute leprechaun craft, and were winding up the evening with some puzzle play. My youngest (2 1/2 ish) and I were working on a  48 piece Lisa Frank puzzle of unicorn magic, and she was plugging away on her own. All of a sudden, as she slips a piece into place, she murmurs kind of to herself, “Now we’re cooking with gas!”

Parenting win! I don’t think I say this phrase often, but I do say it, and it probably makes no real sense to a toddler of 2, but she understood it, used it correctly, and was quietly encouraging herself while working on something and finding success after a small struggle. Needless to say, I was a pretty pleased Mommy.

This didn’t last too long, as the fates saw my Mommy pride and fearing I’d get too boastful dropped me down a mommy peg or two… or like five.

IMG_7907

We finished up our puzzles and decided to play some memory. Seriously, Mommy needs to start playing this every day because my brain is shot, but I digress. The game was going well. My oldest was kicking some memory butt, and emotions were running high as we all were trying to do our best. There’s no letting the toddlers win “just because” in this house. So, as my daughter was going after a card that she knew she had seen the match to previously,  she picks the wrong one.

In true and utter disappointment with herself she exclaims, “Shit!”

I looked at her not 100% sure that that was what she actually said. Sensing my confusion, she clarified for me, the dear soul. “I said, ‘Shit!'”

My mouth dropped open, and I held my breath because all I wanted to do was laugh at the hilarity. I couldn’t even collect my thoughts for a reprimand when she automatically corrected herself.

“Crap?” she tried next.

And I lost it.  Parenting fail… on so many levels.

But so highly enjoyable.

When I recovered, I gave the proper speech about how neither of those responses were appropriate for a toddler and that sometimes adults say things that kids are not allowed to. Not sure how effective that message will be for standing any sort of test of time, but I tried.

So, ya win some and ya lose some. I guess it’s all about rolling with the punches, folks.

IMG_7911

I love me some SnapChat filters

9 thoughts on “Ya Win Some, Ya Lose Some

  1. love it. About a month ago my five year old was being reminded that we were late for school, while she was in the bathroom, and asked me why “she could never take a frigging shit in peace?” I can’t imagine where she might have heard that….#fridayfriviolity

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LMAO! Is it really a fail if they use it in proper context though? I say nope.

    Shit….now we’re cookin with gas. Flips hair. 😉

    P.S. Snapchat filters are everything.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I second what webmdiva said. She’s obviously very bright to pick up the context of these words and use them in the right situation. I can only imagine how hard it was not to laugh. Xx 😆
    #fridayfrivolity

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Brilliant! As a mum of two boys now grown with children of their own – I can honestly tell you that the odd expletive tumbling from the mouths of children now and then really does not matter one iota. I think it is hilarious and I love the way you told this – it is so funny. I used to get uptight about hearing mine copy swear words (learned from me!) and do the whole double standard thing. What if they say those words at school? What if they say them in front of Grandma? What if? What if? What if? WTF?!!!!! None of it will make ANY difference in the long run. My sons were singing some pretty dodgy songs by Brit comedians Peter Cook and Dudley Moore when they were 8 and 10 (having overheard them on my stereo of course – BAD mummy!) But they grew up to be law abiding high achievers who are now experiencing what it is like when toddlers say the F word in public because daddy said it earlier. They really get my former angst now and understand why I once washed their mouths out with soap. (yes, I really did 😦 ) But I say, don’t worry, chill out – none of it matters in the end. Your writing about your children is brilliant – I normally avoid mummy blogs and I had forgotten how brilliant yours is! Because I am so disorganised I forget to visit!

    Like

Leave a Reply

