Toddler Fat Tuesday

Gone are the days when kicking up my heels and flashing my “smile” are appropriate as good ol’ Fat Tuesday rolls around. I actually have never celebrated Mardi Gras, at least that I can remember. Maybe once… or perhaps that was Cinco De Mayo… not sure.

Anyway… I digress.

Regardless, there is literally zero possibility of finding me in New Orleans this carnival season lavishly indulging in food, fun, and refreshing beverages. But, really, what does New Orleans have that my toddler-filled home does not?  The temperatures are above freezing right now, I’ve got bead necklaces out my wazoo (not earned in the traditional fashion mind you, but purchased at the local Dollar Tree), my girls and I can make some kick ass Mardi Gras masks together thanks to Pinterest, and I can get us some treats to eat ourselves silly over, I am sure.

Besides,  toddlers act like little drunks all the time anyway, shouting slurred messages that can very well seem obscene, they are often unstable and falling down for unknown reasons, and their drunken banter of “I  want toast,” “I don’t wanna eat toast!” “Give me my toooaast!” is endless. (My girls are angry drunks.) So let’s kick up our heels and have us a Toddler Fat Tuesday this year.

First, let’s adorn our bodies.

fullsizerender-15

prettyflyforawhitemom creation

I don’t know about your kids, but my toddler daughters love them some beads!

img_7752

Next, I found this easy mask making activity on Pinterest. All we need to do is to trace our hands on some paper, cut them out, glue them together, cut eye holes, decorate, and then tape to a straw, and we will be ready to Mardi Gras, baby. I don’t know that I own a straw, but I know I have some un-sharpened pencils from former treat bags, and will use those as my go-to backup.

Also, instead of using regular construction paper, which is all fine and good, I am going to use past water color paintings which I know are very vibrant in color, and are just kind of laying around. They should give the masks just a little more umph and up the toddler contribution for making them. The girls like to see us use past projects in new ways.

FullSizeRender (16).jpg

img_7763

Put one little toddler hand down and trace it. May have to do the cutting depending on your toddler’s skillz.

img_7765

Two little toddler hands, folded in half to cut the eyes out, and then taped together on the back. I figure they probably won’t last long, so I just used tape instead of glue.

 

img_7772

So, it looks like we are set for a Mardi Gras parade. All I need are some treats, and if I can’t find something or make something yummy, I know we have some left over candy canes the girls will go bonkers over if they are allowed to have some. They just happen to be brightly colored ones too so win, win!

fullsizerender-18

Perhaps I won’t be cavorting in the Cajun bayou this year. Whatevs! I say, bring it on Fat Tuesday! This February 28th we are all set to paaaaaartaaay!

Toddler style.

-Flymom out

P.S. And…. it’s always a paaaaaaartaaaaay at FridayFrivolity! Link up! Drink up! Both at the same time! We don’t judge!

P.P.S. If you’re even thinking about co-hosting with this set of fine lady bloggers, don’t hesitate. Do it! This was my first time co-hosting a link up party, and they showed me the ropes, welcomed me in, and were amazingly gentle with this linky party virgin. You won’t regret it! Thanks to all for an incredible experience!

Now on to the link-up! 😀
Friday Frivolity LINKY PARTY - the blog link-up for all things Fun, Funny, Happy, and Hopeful!





Featured Post from Last Week:

In a fun twist, since we now have multiple hosts and co-hosts we will also have multiple FEATURES…. but you will have to go check out the other blogs to see if you were featured there! 😉
 
My featured post for this week is…
picsart_02-16-09-27-11
5 Parenting Truths As Told By Dogs by OneSageMama. Now, I don’t know if I’m allowed to pick her, because she is co-hosting with me, but her dog/mom memes really resonated with me, and I couldn’t help myself. I apologize to the blog powers that be if I have faux “pawed” *See what I did there?*

The Hosts:

FridayFrivolity host Sarah Eliza of Devastate Boredom


Facebook // Twitter // Pinterest // Instagram 

Sarah Eliza is on a mission to Devastate Boredom by living life with laughter and intention! Her blog is your spot for Capsule Wardrobe how-to’s and inspiration, humor, encouragement, life-hacks, Read / DON’T Read book reviews, and more!  Stop by her blog for winter Capsule Wardrobe inspiration — mix-and-match outfit inspiration in burgundy and olive! 



 
Host, Audrey, Friday Frivolity

Audrey is a wonderfully eclectic blogger, who not only can cook up a storm over on That Recipe, but also writes at Munofore – “MUsings NOt FOod RElated.” Munofore touches on humor, parenting, crafting, holiday ideas, tutorials, and more! Audrey’s most recent post is a fantastic tutorial on creating an clickable image map that links to multiple pages / sites… a must-read for any blogger who designs images!


Host, Lisa, Friday Frivolity

Facebook // Twitter //Pinterest // Google+ // Bloglovin

Lisa is an awesomely hilarious and authentic writer who marches to her own drum on her blog Syncopated Mama, providing an “un-labelly spot” for all the happily off-beat folks out there who have been wishing to find kindred spirits. She shares her adventures building a natural home, teaching her adorbs daughter, establishing and refining positive communication skills, camping, creating, cooking, and so much more! Lisa’s latest post is an awesome collection of resources you can use to teach your child about the Biblical story of Jonah at home.




FridayFrivolity host Jessica from Babi a Fi
Jessica is an amazingly funny and smart blogger from Wales who writes at Babi a Fi on a whole range of topics — from entertaining vintage nostalgia, to technology tutorials, to book reviews, to raising her adorable munchkin, and so much more! Her latest post, 40 Questions Meme, is a great way to get to know her better!
 
 
Guest Co-Hosts for February: 
 

Amethyst from One Sage Mama! 

Amethyst is a fantastically encouraging and thoughtful blogger, who shares new-mama adventures, self-care advice, book and product reviews and so much more over at One Sage Mama. Her most recent post, in honor of Multicultural Children’s Book Day, is a review of a heartwarming story entitled Yumi’s Extraordinary Collection.  



Patricia from Pretty Fly for a White Mom
 
Patricia is a marvelously honest and funny writer, who shares her warm and humorous reflections on life and motherhood over at Pretty Fly for A White Mom.  And ooooh yesss, she rewrites and performs music too!  Check out her post What Makes Me Fly for the scoop on how she chose her blog name, AND a selection of some of her greatest hits… one of which has to qualify as the cutest baby announcement ever!
 
Could it be you?? #FridayFrivolity link-up looking for new cohosts!
Calling all bloggers looking for an upbeat and supportive group of pals to join in hosting the weekly #FridayFrivolity par-tay! We are hoping to add to our ranks of dedicated hosts and co-hosts, and would love for you to consider joining the fun! Co-Hosts are welcome on a temporary basis (usually a month), while Hosts make a more ongoing commitment. 🙂 Swing by here to express interest and ask any questions!

 

Now time for the new stuff!

This a link-up for all things funny, fun, encouraging, hopeful, and happy. That includes free printables, giveaways, and other fun stuff to make us SMILE and start the weekend off on the right foot. If you’re here in search of fun and uplifting reading materials, skip the rules and just start clickin’! Bloggy buddies, thanks for coming to par-tay! You are welcome to link up to 3 posts, and old posts are always welcome!
 
There are three rules only:
 

13 thoughts on “Toddler Fat Tuesday

  1. I absolutely love you! Had to pin this to our #ShowMeYours favorites board.

    Don’t tell, but I secretly wish I were in Louisiana earning beads. 😉 Shhhh.

    #ShowMeYours

    Like

  2. Love that necklace meme! My girls have so many beads you’d think they were the queens of mardi gras. How horrified do you think they will be if I bring this up when they finally learn the truth? The mask is pretty darn cute, though! Thanks for sharing at the #happynowlinkup!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

