After my own heart…

img_7294

Savory rewards

A hard earned treat after a grueling process of eating noodles and broccoli for dinner, my oldest was given a few Doritos. Mama has been known to knock back a bag of these bad boys in a sitting with no problem, and only a side serving of guilt. Unless no ones knows it happened. In which case, it didn’t.

Bag of what?

Anyway, while having a few chips for herself, my eldest looks at me, distressed, saying, “These chips are burning my lips.”

“Awe honey, are your lips chapped a little? Let’s get you cleaned up.  You don’t have to finish them.”

Well you’d think I had suggested that she step away from a brand new pony with the way she looked at me in total shock and horror. Or like I’d suggested she not open her Christmas presents she had been waiting for all year and forever.

She turned to face this challenge, her delectable yet slightly stinging treat, and with a look of utter determination, grabs another chip, breathily exhaling and saying,”No.”

Not really a no of defiance, but rather one of – no I will not let this deter me. No, I will not be denied this satisfaction due to a little pain.- So this little girl kept plugging along, savoring every cheesy crunch and the finger-licking which ensued afterwards.

Oh, my dear little girl. May you face every adversity with such determination and reap life’s cheesy rewards.

One thought on “After my own heart…

Leave a Reply

