Barney Party? Nailed it!

My youngest turned two last week, so this past weekend was the big birthday bash. There are many things that I do not excel at as a Mom, but birthday parties I have a lot of fun with. I’m not exactly on the Pinterest Mom level, but I do try and put some extra effort into it for my girls to make it memorable. It won’t be long until the birthday parties are about their friends rather than family, and then one day, big birthday celebrations may not even have me included in them at all. So, I’m doing my best to take advantage of it while I can.

So, what was the big theme for #2? None other than that lovable dinosaur Barney. Many of you may remember him fondly from the 90’s and early 2000’s when he was most popular. Many of you might have even loved him yourself as a child; however, there is not a whole lot out there these days in regards to decorations or even toys. So, what’s a mom to do, but to attempt to make her own. This is not the first time I have home made decorations. I’ve pretty much done it for all of my kids birthdays over the last three years, but this one involved a little bit more than I’ve put forth in the past.

img_6275

Who doesn’t love a larger-than-toddler-size dinosaur?

We played a customary party game, Pin The Bow on Baby Bop, which ended up being a lot of fun for the older kiddos more so than the Birthday Girl or younger family members, but still, it was fun.

I thought about what the girls would wear. When’s the last time you saw a Barney shirt in the stores? I could have paid $20-$30 online, but that’s not really a viable option, so Mommy made Barney outfits. Thank you Walmart for regularly carrying Barney-purple clothing!

img_6276

Green bellies, spots, and yellow toes? Check, check, check!

And, of course, it’s always good to teach the girls to be thankful for their party guests and the whole birthday experience in general. For my oldest birthday party last Spring, I had her make t-shirts for the kids using sharpie markers and white t-shirts that turned out cute. img_3954But this time, Mommy painted on bags instead. Princess crowns for the girls and dinosaur skulls for the boys.

img_6100

A decent amount of preparation went into the party, and at the end of the day, it was all worth it. The girls had a ball. My youngest is enjoying her decorations in her room, as is my oldest enjoying hers still in her room from her party in the spring.  Being a SAHM mom has afforded me many opportunities to do these kinds of things for my girls that I probably wouldn’t have been able to pull off if I was still working full time.

And even though, there are many times a day I feel like a big flop, and I get stressed out or frustrated as the kiddos are screaming and whining and being toddlers, at the end of that day, I gave myself a big Barney pat on the back.

9 thoughts on “Barney Party? Nailed it!

  1. Happy birthday to the little one.

    What? Barney not popular any ore? Hmm. I need to get updated.

    Your party sounds like so much fun. Yeah, enjoy them. My little one is 12 and she plans her own parties – I am merely required to provide food. In a way, it is a relief, but I do miss the planning that came with throwing a party for the little one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Loves of Your Lives | prettyflyforawhitemom

Leave a Reply

