IMG_5007“It’s time for bed sweetie,” I called to my oldest as the day was coming to an end.

“I gotta grab my buddy Mom. Have you seen Giraffey?” she responded.

“Sweetheart, you already have him in your arms.”

The young girl looked down at the growing pile of “buddies” she was taking to bed that night. Many had dispersed themselves throughout the house as the day went on, and this was the typical rounding up the forces for the bedtime march.

She may look identical to her father, but at moments like this, there was no denying she was all mine.

“Giraffey” is my daughter’s most beloved and bedraggled stuffed animal. She got him for her first Christmas from her uncle, and the two have been inseparable ever since. She has a Giraffey 1 and a Giraffey 2; the second bought to spend time with her at Nana’s during her weekly visit, but as she got older, there was no denying who the real “buddy” was.

Nana’s “Giraffey” was far more plump and pristine than the one who went to bed with her on a nightly basis. Softer, more plush, less loved and battle scarred, the true Giraffey soon revealed his colors, and the other became, in her eyes, “new” and not the one she truly wanted. She preferred the one that had been washed a million times, peed on, cried on, and used to wipe her nose when the world seemed unfair. He had been with her through thick and thin- doctors visits for shots, car rides that seemed like they would never end, stroller rides where he occasionally was dropped and run over. Without a doubt, Giraffey is one tough mother stuffer, and she loves him.

My daughter loves him so much, he has even made his debut in our rewrite of Vanilla Ice’s hit, “Ice Ice Baby”.

Alright stop, collaborate and listen.
Nic is here, you don’t wanna be missing.
Giraffey, grabs ahold of me tightly.
He’s the best stuffy,
Daily and Nightly.

See? He’s legendary.

(Yes, I like to rewrite rap songs / any kind of song- for various purposes. That’s part of why I’m so “fly”.)

People often comment about the scruffiness of my daughter’s most treasured friend. I couldn’t care less. I love that she loves him so much, and I fear the day when he isn’t her best buddy. There will come a day when someone else takes that spot, and real friends may not be able to love her back as much as that giraffe does.

And there I will be, trying to do my best not to beat the stuffing out of them.

Daily Prompt:Buddy

My buddy…

21 thoughts on “My buddy…

  1. So evocative – made me think of my own older girl’s obsession with Lion; I had to remake his tail a couple of times because she would swish her face with it every night at bedtime … yes, he had a double as well; used alternative at home, he was that devotedly used! I love how you brought the stuffing into your writing as a kind of thread throughout. Poignant and very resonant story and writing about it … thanks so much for this!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh my! I laughed out loud a couple of times reading this post. I still have a bag full of my stuffed animals from my childhood up in the attic. Your daughter’s Giraffey is to her what my Little Pepe Monkey was to me. Thank you so much for putting a smile on my face!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: a friendship ends before it gets boring | Musings of a Random Mind

  4. I don’t know that Giraffey will ever be forgotten. I had a stuffed animal as such, that my dad got me for Easter one year. He’s a pink Bugs Bunny style rabbit, his name is “Bunny”. I’m 34 now, and still have him. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A lovely post – loved reading about your daughter’s love of Giraffey ! My daughter has her O’Teddy, who has, for the past eleven years, been wearing the onesie which she had when she was three months of age. She still has O’Teddy near her pillow when she goes to sleep. All other toys are in the closet.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: 10 Ways 90’s Rap Helps Me Stay Fly | prettyflyforawhitemom

  7. Pingback: The Loves of Your Lives | prettyflyforawhitemom

Leave a Reply

