Why am I doing this?

image

That’s a very good question… Starting a blog is not something I would ever have thought I would be doing. I am not what you would call “into” all the social media play that is out there. I have a Pinterest account, thanks to my sister, but that is it. I don’t Facebook,Twitter, Instagram or anything else that might be out there, of which I am blissfully unaware. My family is usually pretty private, and so I have no intentions of posting my kiddos or family’s faces all over this blog.

So why would such a private person even start something which is clearly anything but private? I’m not going to lie- it makes me nervous to do so.

The answer is: for my girls.

I am finding myself in a position I never would have dreamed possible for me – a stay at home mom of two beautiful little girls. I didn’t completely “choose” to be a stay at home mom, but here I am. At the same time, I’m finding that this could be an incredible opportunity for me in more than just the obvious way of the pleasure of being with my girls… I can try to pursue a personal dream.

I want to be a published writer. Big time, small time, many works, or just one- in some way get my name out there along with something I have created. I think I owe it to my girls for them to see their mama as a woman who never stops pursuing her own personal dreams all while fulfilling the other many requirements of life. I feel like I already have accomplished many of my dreams, even though I’m only 34, but this one has been sitting on the shelf for a long time. I don’t know if keeping a blog will help, how it could help, or what may come of this,but I figured I’d give it a whirl.

So here we go…

11 thoughts on “Why am I doing this?

  1. Hi,
    Congratulations on starting your blog. My reasons also had to do with my daughter.
    I met you in the Community Pool where you indicated you are a new blogger. I help new bloggers at my site. Tips for engaging readers, improving content, and increasing traffic are waiting for you. I brought you the link to my About page, so you can read what my blog can do for you.
    http://mostlyblogging.com/about/
    I also offer free incentives for subscribing.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bravo on taking that leap of faith and starting your own blog. Sometimes expressing yourself in one medium may be the way to helping you find your niche in the writing world. A blog is an excellent medium form of Public Relations that you control. The topics you choose to write about are personal and you do not have a creative writing board or deadline driven editor hounding you for your latest creative endeavors. All the best to you in this new creative outlet. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

